Username: Password:

Recent Posts

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 10
The Billiard Room / Re: By popular demand - The Board Game thread
« Last post by cavalcade on Today at 07:23:38 PM »
I don't understand how you have the time to play that much stuff, never mind the money.

Yeah, I think we're entering Trump-esque territory to re-cast that as your general admiration for how I manage to do it.

I'm a PhD student entering my third year. I work pretty long hours. My hobby/escape is gaming and music. I have all the music gear I need, so I tend to buy boardgames as I enjoy the social aspect and they scratch an itch that videogames no longer scratch. I don't drink, I don't smoke, I have a tiny car, I walk to work, I live in West Wales where life is still fairly cheap.

I'd normally not take a statement especially personally, but I did feel it was a bit rich coming from this place where plenty of people see fit to couch any 120 hour game they've finished behind cover statements of how they're also tremendously busy, or did it while mowing the lawn or something. Or the 18 season Marvel TV shows you all seem to manage to plough through in under a week and discuss merrily.

So yes, it was a bit fuck off. I have the money because I don't spend it. I have the time because I make it. You want the money and time, do the same I guess?
« Last post by Luscan on Today at 05:11:28 PM »
Sorry, but why the assumption of malice? I know it's the internet, but I do generally try to avoid being a dick, if I can.

it's the 'never mind the money' aspect that makes the 'im impressed' part ring a wee bit hollow.
« Last post by Ninchilla on Today at 12:16:03 PM »
Sorry, but why the assumption of malice? I know it's the internet, but I do generally try to avoid being a dick, if I can.
« Last post by cavalcade on Today at 07:11:27 AM »
Uh huh. Riiiight.