Username: Password:

Author Topic: Vision On. Painting and stuff with Tony Felthartmonkey.  (Read 12165 times)

Offline cavalcade

• Legend
  • Popty Ping
    • View Profile
    • The doyouinverts
So, how about a specific thread for painting and other creative stuff.

Felt - specifically I have questions on these Super Dungeon Explore figs. How are you going to tackle them? I've tried painting one of the flame guys as a practice and they look great in simple, bold colours, but washes don't seem to work. How are you going to make them "pop" and look cartoon-y?

Offline Hapimeses

• Empirical
  • Hah-pim-ess-eez
    • View Profile
    • http://www.hapimeses.com/
    • Email
Recently did some painting for Zombicide and found out I was blind. Okay, not blind, per se, but anything closer than arm's length was a blur. Turns out that makes painting really hard. Also turns out that I need to go to an optician.

Fortunately, I've been painting miniatures for over thirty years, so all the skills were there, just not the ability to accurately see how those skills were being deployed. Still, I was rather pleased with the results, for all I could only see them properly in the photos (which are also bit blurry, so sorry for that). Fortunately Zombies don't need to be painted tidily (blood splashes over every botched bit!).

This picture comes from my blog post where I chat about painting the models.

Can't believe I'm going to need bifocals or similar. That's just rubbish.

Offline feltmonkey

• Empirical
  • i'm a disgrace.
    • View Profile
I'm surprised you didn't go for "Tony Fartmonkey."

I've been thinking about the SDE miniatures.  I'm hoping to do something like this:

I have no idea how to achieve this.  It's quite exciting.